single image

Teams entering Esports Championship Series Season 3 Finals finalized

The teams entering the final stage of the Esports Championship Series Season 3 had been finalized after eight teams from Europe and North America have secured their places in the Finals.

The ECS S3 finals, set to be played at the SEE Wembley Arena in London from June 23-25 with $660,000 up for grabs, will see the following eight top Counter-Strike: Global Offensive teams in action:

  • FaZe Clan
  • G2 Esports
  • Astralis
  • Fnatic
  • Cloud9
  • SK Gaming
  • Liquid
  • OpTic Gaming

The European lineup of FaZe Clan, Astralis and G2 confirmed their place in the LAN finals as Finn “karrigan” Andersen’s FaZe team got first place with a dominant 14-4 first-place finish. The French roster of G2 tied with Astralis on a 12-6 record while fnatic finished fourth at 11-7.

Across the pond, Cloud9 and SK both completed their season on 13-5, with Liquid and Optic behind with 12-6 and 11-7 records.

World No.1 team Astralis will look to defend their title after beating OpTic, SK, and FaZe on their road to the championship final last season. As the tournament also determines who will be top dog before the Krakow Major in July this time around it is doubtless that all teams will step up their game.

This would especially be true in the case of OpTic Gaming, who conceded the title last season to Astralis after the being swept aside from in the grand final. It could have been their third title of the 2016 calendar year but instead, they gave way to Astralis as the European team moved to dominate 2017.

You may like

Load More